Clinical Dermatology

Sun Pharma commits $2.5M to dermatology professorship

Updated

Sun Pharmaceutical Industries will fund a $2.5 million dermatology professorship, the New Jersey business publication NJBIZ reported, adding to a stream of large industry gifts to U.S. academic dermatology over the past five years.

The commitment places the Indian-headquartered generics and specialty manufacturer among several pharmaceutical companies that have underwritten named academic positions in the specialty. Sun Pharma's North American operations are based in Princeton, New Jersey.

What the funding covers

The endowed position's host institution, research scope, and first named holder were not disclosed in the NJBIZ report. The $2.5 million figure represents the total commitment, not an annual disbursement.

Endowed professorships in academic medicine typically fund a portion of the holder's salary, research staff, trainee support, and operating costs over a multi-year horizon. In dermatology, such positions have historically supported clinical research in psoriasis, atopic dermatitis, hidradenitis suppurativa, and cutaneous oncology, along with fellowship training.

How industry-funded chairs fit the specialty

Pharmaceutical industry support of academic dermatology has expanded alongside the specialty's therapeutics pipeline. IL-17, IL-23, and JAK inhibitors reshaped the treatment of chronic inflammatory skin disease during the past decade, increasing demand for clinician-investigators capable of running registrational and real-world evidence studies.

Major dermatology manufacturers have established comparable academic partnerships. The structure varies: some gifts carry explicit research directives tied to a manufacturer's product line, while others fund a general chair that the host institution controls independently.

Sun Pharma markets dermatology products including Ilumya (tildrakizumab-asmn), an IL-23 antagonist approved for moderate-to-severe plaque psoriasis, and Levulan Kerastick (aminolevulinic acid 20% topical solution) for photodynamic therapy of actinic keratoses. The company has not stated whether the new professorship will be tied to a specific therapeutic area.

Governance and disclosure

Industry-funded academic positions at U.S. medical schools operate within conflict-of-interest frameworks administered by the host institution. The NIH, the HHS Office of Inspector General, and journal editors all hold oversight roles.

The Physician Payments Sunshine Act of 2010 requires manufacturers to report transfers of value to physicians, including salary from endowed positions. CMS Open Payments, the public database built under the law, lists those payments and makes the relationships visible to patients, payers, and journalists.

What the gift signals

A $2.5 million commitment to a single professorship sits near the upper end of recent industry gifts to dermatology. Most endowed chairs in the specialty range from $1 million to $3 million in total funding, with $2 million as a common threshold for fully endowing a position at many academic medical centers.

The investment underscores continued manufacturer interest in dermatology as a commercial and clinical category. Biologic and small-molecule pipelines remain active across inflammatory skin disease, and academic centers need clinician-investigators to run trials, generate real-world evidence, and train subspecialists.

As the 2025–2026 academic year approaches, the Sun Pharma gift will add to the pipeline of industry-supported academic positions once the host institution, scope, and first holder are announced.

Source: Google News: Dermatology

Share this article:

Amara Osei

Show full bio

Correspondent covering technology and product news in Clinical dermatology, inflammatory skin disease and biologics at Derm Field.

More from Amara Osei →

Related articles

« Previous articleNext article »